Who is lipstick and shades?

Who is lipstick and shades?

Hello all!

Welcome to my blog Lipstick and Shades my name is Hannah Balogun aka Hannah Lipstick aka Hannarnia!

CImZ_I7W8AAFMrs

I created this blog as an outlet to talk about all the things I love, hate and enjoy.. The aim is to try and stay within the topic of beauty and lifestyle.

When i came up with the idea of this blog I was in the middle of a career change.. I had 10 years experience in fashion (styling, creative direction and PR)  I  put my burlesque dancing on hold and  was stuck in a crappy temping job doing telephone work for a university (don’t ask).

I started to feel severely mentally unstimulated having just left a really well known global PR company. I would spend hours and hours at work on YouTube watching make up and beauty bloggers like Pixiwoo,  Alissa AshleyEllarie, Destiny Godly and Styles by Fash  and became incredibly inspired.

I realized as a women of colour especially in the United Kingdom our options are some what limited when it came to beauty..I saw my self buying brands that were stocked in the UK but then things that suited my skin tone was only available in the United states and of course come with a hefty custom charge (if you buy anything over £50).

It then became important to me to be in the know of what my options were when it came to low, mid and high budget beauty brands..I kinda felt that I could have a voice too! I wanted to share what i liked and maybe what didn’t work so well for my skin and of course share my knowledge with others and that was how Lipstick and Shades was born! 

I have to say I don’t want to pigeon hole my self too much as knowing me, one minute I may talk about fashion another day I may talk about my love for the latest Lipstick and Shades (sunglasses)!

As a  disclaimer, I am by no means a professional beauty blogger, writer or make up artist, all the products I buy are out of my own pocket.

I will make spelling mistakes sometimes.

Thank you so much for reading! (I know that was a looooong introduction)

Lots of love

Hannah Lipstick

xoxox

 

Leave a Reply

